our ignoble caste

15 Sep

False Priest verdict: Decent.
I say this for two reasons, one of which is the fact that I actually like the majority of songs on this album, though some parts of them make me grit my teeth in a little bit of agony. Still. I have reasonable faith that in a few weeks I’ll get used to it.
Secondly, the thing that most bugged me about this album is the total lack of any structure. Take Hissing Fauna for an example: you have the first half of the album, up to The Past Is A Grotesque Animal, and then the second half, which is radically different. Skeletal Lamping repeats this, the turning point either being An Eludarian Instance or Gallery Piece. I enjoy this structure, it reminds me who I’m listening to, it gives me benchmarks so I know what song I’m at.
But False Priest lacks this subtle touch, which kind of throws me off completely. The songs begin to blend together- after
Coquet Coquette, pretty much everything sounds the same- a phenomenon I’ve never, ever heard in an of Montreal album. Quite frankly, I’m disappointed.
But, leaving album structure aside, the lyrics reach new heights of what-the-fuckery, Kevin Barnes decides to throw in some quite excellent sort of Nick Cave-y spoken word bits, Janelle Monae is at the top of her game, and whatsherface, you know, Beyonce Knowles’ sister (I am deeply sorry for forgetting your name, jesus christ I can’t remember anything) sounds divine.
Better than Skeletal Lamping? Yes.
A new classic Of Montreal record? No.

Hopefully their next album will incorporate some of their ideas from this one, add the wild & crazy stuff from Skeletal Lamping, throw some structure in there, and maybe bring back some little quirks from their early acoustic stuff. That would probably result in a record as good as, or mayne even better than, Hissing Fauna.
We can only get better from here.

((((()))))
IN OTHER NEWS:
Cap and Gown photos were today, guess who is not flattered at all by a mortarboard? Me!
I finished my epic Tame Impalas video thing, it will be here shortly.
Life’s proceeding along just as planned.
I dreamt of the Poet last night.

Will write tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

