staring at the sun

6 Feb

so, even though I am quite an indie-geek, I have realized that I’ve barely scratched the surface when it comes to bands. I’m going to start making a list of bands I need to listen to (and possibly bother people about) in one of my books that I got for christmas. It has a monkey sitting on an alligator eating a mango on it. Awesome? Yes!

Listening to The English Beat (or just The Beat? That’s how Last.fm corrects it) and it is catchy as all go out. Ahaha, it makes me want to do a little dance. It’s proto-ska! It’s got the little horn stings! The syncopated guitar bits! Ahaha, I love this stuff. I cannot stand current ska (well, I don’t listen to it for hours in my room), but this is just on the high-key side of low-key.
If that makes any sense.

Well! Going to apply for the Paris summer programme today, I’ve filled everything out and am waiting for my mum to come home so she can yay or nay it. I am excited! I am also kind of bummed because the Bonnaroo artist list comes out on the ninth, and I will be very peeved if of Montreal and the Flaming Lips are playing and I do not get to see them. That would be terrible.

On the other front of confusion (was there an initial one? Ff, whatever-), I still haven’t reached a consensus about ANYTHING and I’m ripping my hair out over it. I’m doin’ pretty well sittin’ here in the middle, but eventually I’m gonna have to make a choice (I’ve got an elephant in my brain, reminding me), and that’s going to be the hardest thing I’ll do. Well, at least in high school.

…I have three Sigur Ros albums.

That is pretty cool. I am going to get more. Maybe Von? Probably Agaetis Byjrun (or however the devil it’s spelled).

ALSO:
As soon as I write three or four songs, I am going to record them. Then I am going to make people listen to them. And then I’m going to check off one of my things to do before I explode. THAT IS MY GOAL TODAY; WRITING SONGS.

Except I am absolute crap at doing so.

4 Responses to “staring at the sun”

  1. lillian 02/07/2010 at 6:03 pm #

    yo…if you want to go to Bonnaroo so badly…why are you applying to the paris thingy? can’t you go to that next summer? I thought this was the only time you were guaranteed to be able to go to Bonnaroo? You were so excited…and now you’ve just dumped it?? I’m confused. I also feel rather bad for poor Bonnaroo. It is being left in the garbage heap in favor of a paris-thingy-that-could-be-done-any-other-summer-of-your-life…that must hurt, a lot. Sad face for Bonnaroo 😦

    • brosandi 02/07/2010 at 6:10 pm #

      oh, oh.
      Well, the Paris thing cannot be done any other year, but my dad has promised that I will go to Bonnawoo next year, or the year after that. In any case, I’m going- the question is just “when?”
      And it’ll be more fun next year, when I will know a hell of a lot more of the bands than I do now. Though if Radiohead or someone breaks up in the interim, that will make me very sad indeed.

  2. Leydys Jamison 02/15/2010 at 5:29 pm #

    I hope you would not mind if I posted a part of this on my univeristy blog?

    • brosandi 02/15/2010 at 6:23 pm #

      Not at all.

Leave a Reply

