Soaking Sounds Like a Pokemon Name

4 Sep

So currently it is raining outside, and it has been doing such for about a day and a half. I usually enjoy rain, it’s nice and cool, there’s small drops of water falling from the sky, yay! Unfortunately this is the type of rain that just makes you soaking wet and cackles at your misfortune.

Also would like to just shout out some bands that I like, so you can choose whether or not to read my music blog posts. They will be tagged so you can filter them out, as will the angst and guitar tab posts.
So, without further ado, the stuff I currently listen to:

  • Radiohead
  • Death Cab For Cutie
  • Sigur Ros
  • Dungen
  • Fanfarlo
  • Beirut
  • Spoon
  • Black Keys
  • The Smiths
  • Beck
  • Cake
  • Cold War Kids
  • Echo and the Bunnymen
  • Led Zeppelin
  • The Flaming Lips
  • Interpol
  • Kings of Leon (their early stuff more often than their recent stuff, more rants about that later)
  • The National
  • Noah and the Whale
  • Of Montreal
  • Okkervil River
  • The Pixies
  • Sufjan Stevens
  • Vampire Weekend
  • Wilco

and that’s about it. I have an album by most of the artists above.
And about the Kings of Leon thing, I really like their early albums, a la Youth and Young Manhood, much better than Only By The Night. I think that Only By The Night came about after about two years of being locked in a room with pedals and told to play something. There’s also some definite intervention by the producers- what came out of that pedaltastic room is nearly indistinguishable from stuff like Red Jumpsuit Apparatus or Fall Out Boy. Say what you will, I believe the only difference now is Caleb’s raspy voice.  I’m just disappointed I didn’t get to see them in concert before they went the way of the sellout.
I’m not saying it’s bad music, it’s just a very very quick change from bareboned guitar riffs to echoey chords and deep slow bass. Try both on for size, see what you like. Album changes aside, they’re still great musicians.

Another good band that doesn’t get nearly enough listeners (and is on the list above) is The Black Keys. Seriously amazing barren bluesy rock, only a guitar and drummer. They have been playing for quite a long time now and have tweaked their style a little to create something finely treading the line between straight Zeppelin-style AWESOME and Taj Mahal-y blues. It’s like an energy drink for the ears. Love it, bought the CD Rubber Factory a few weeks ago, am enjoying it immensely. Check it out.

And finally, there’s Spoon, which is just indescribable. Picture a bandbaby of– oh, I can’t even try to do that. Here ya go, Spoon–>

This song has firmly imbedded itself into my brain. I am currently getting my friend Wil to burn it for me. Yus. If you like this, try the album GaGaGaGaGa.

 

I think that’s about it for now, thanks for reading, guys. If you have any suggestions for bands I should check out, send ’em my way! I’m always open to new music.

Ciao.

Leave a Reply

